Foraging on a Friday

I remember watching a tv show where a chef of a well accomplished restaurant would forage for the menu items each day.  “How cool is that?” I thought.  The whole menu would change depending on what the chef could find on his daily walk/hike.

It made me think of one of my childhood fantasies.  I always though of how awesome it would be to be stranded on a deserted island and have to survive off of whatever I could.  This dream was long before Survivor, but maybe watching Swiss Family Robinson or Blue Lagoon one too many times had an influence on me.  Maybe it awakened something from my native Hawaiian roots.  Or, maybe its deeper than that.  It could just be because I live and move on this great planet called earth.

Living off the land is a basic activity for all living creatures since the beginning of time.  We have lost touch with the distance and time it takes/should take for our food to reach our plates, but that is a-whole-nother blog post.

Foraging, FYI, is basically searching for wild food sources, an animal instinct of sorts.

Yesterday, me and one of my besties set out to do just that.

Our mission: Watercress and Pohole Fern Salad

Image

And yes, we really do hang out in our bikinis and let our children run around naked pretty much every time we are together.

Image

Beautiful mama.

It was a little adventure carrying naked babies through the river while dodging fiberglass grass and spiderwebs, but i think it was worth it.

And here is our final product…

Image

The only thing we added that wasn’t wild and free was the tofu and our dressing.  If you are curious, I can’t tell you the exact measurements, but we made our yummy dressing with sesame oil, mayo, vinegar, shoyu and sugar.  At the last minute we added papaya, from outside, of course.

Soo ono.

One comment

  1. Lorena Shaw · May 28, 2014

    I still love to watch Swiss Family Robinson. Maybe your desire to go “foraging” might also be because we used to take you and your siblings hunting for those yummy fern shoots and watercress when you were a child. I
    share your passion to see how much you can do to live off the land and all that God has provided.

    Your salad looks very “delish!”

Leave a Reply

