Beauty Full

20140225-150435.jpg

I’m 32 and i just started wearing make up.

Well, kind of.

I have always worn makeup on special occasions or if I was going out.

Growing up on Maui definitely had something to do with it.  The girls here were a little more low key in the cosmetics department.  I’m sure the natural tan and the possibility of jumping in the ocean at any given time put a damper on having/wanting  to wear make up.  When I moved to the mainland for college, I couldn’t believe how much makeup everyone wore. Some girls wouldn’t be caught dead with out it.

It wasn’t till last year that I started to enjoy makeup on a weekly basis.  I still don’t wear it everyday, but two to three times a week is a lot for me.  Its amazing how an extra bit of contour and color can enhance your natural features, and make you feel a little more attractive.

Makeup can make me feel pretty, like a new outfit or jewelry can, but it does not make me feel beautiful.

Some of the things that really make me feel beautiful are….

Seeing myself in my children

My children are 1 1/2 and 5.  They are sponges.  Unfortunately, they soak up the good and the bad.  But when I see them do or say something good that I would have said or done, it makes my heart smile.

Helping a friend in need

I don’t help people because I feel like it will make me feel like a better person or put me on some sort of pedestal.  I do it because I love them…and this goes for friends and strangers.   What a pleasant thing that blessing others is a blessing.

A returned smile

A smile has always been my favorite feature in others.  Such a tiny area of the body that can say so much without saying anything at all.

Second hand good gossip

Don’t be confused.  I first heard this term when I was in college.  It’s when someone tells you something positive that another person has told them about you when you were not present.  This one works both ways!

A kiss from my husband

There is something so intimate about a kiss on the lips.  It doesn’t even have to be openmouthed.  A kiss says there are no walls up. Its a reverence for the other person, showing your affection and love.

Knowing that I am child of God

This one is the most fulfilling. Knowing that I was created and thought of by the one who holds the universe in the palm of His hand blows me away.

What makes you feel beautiful?

PS. The makeup pictured above are my current faves:

Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer in Bisque
Garnier BB Cream in Medium/Deep (I mix it with the tinted moisturizer for my shade)
Physicians Formula Happy Booster blush in Warm
Burt’s Bees tinted lip balm in Hibiscus
Benefit Boi-ing in Medium
Revlon Lip Butter in Sweet Tart
Hard Candy Glow All The Way in Dollface
Benefit They’re Real in Black

3 comments

  1. Jules · February 26, 2014

    Aww what is sweet post! What makes me beautiful is hearing my SO tell me that I am 🙂

  2. Nature's Pulchritude · February 26, 2014

    Great post, beauty is much more than the exterior but your character!

  3. Pingback: Whitewashed | Maui.Sea.Love

Leave a Reply

