A Sunset Story

20140130-150816.jpg
Last night I saw one of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever witnessed.

We had been driving down the right road at the right time.  It had just rained for three days straight; a rare occurrence for Maui.  The sky was dark and sweet coldness was in the air.  I saw it coming.  I saw the clouds breaking.  Wet reflections everywhere.  I longed for my real camera. I had a feeling that it could be one of those moments.  Why didn’t I have it on me, ready for action?  My hubs offered to pull the car over, a demonstration of his love for me.  We would be late for our dinner reservation.  I leapt out of our water beaded car.  And there it was.  I watched it unfold before my eyes.  Soaking. it. all. in. The silhouettes.  The changing colors that lit up the entire sky.  The tourists, ecstatic for the hope of sunshine.

Smiling.

Breathless.

Glory.

I have witnessed hundreds of amazing sunsets in my life, but this one truly took my breath away.  I felt the heaviness of it, like a thick down comforter on a chilly night.  I was enveloped in the weight of it.

It’s no coincidence that today I read about God’s glory.  Kabod, it comes from the root word heaviness.  It takes the word heaviness to a-whole-nother level for me.  This is what I couldn’t exactly put my finger on.  The heaviness, the weight, the breathlessness, the glory, the beauty.  My heart stilled in awe and jumping for joy at once.  A feeling that I often find hard to explain in real words.

I am reminded of one of my favorite snippets of scripture:

Psalm 19:1-3

The heavens declare the glory of God;
    the skies proclaim the work of his hands.
Day after day they pour forth speech;
    night after night they reveal knowledge.
They have no speech, they use no words;
    no sound is heard from them.
Yet their voice goes out into all the earth,
    their words to the ends of the world.

20140130-150014.jpg

20140130-150213.jpg
I love this quote I found a while back, on Pinterest:

”May we be consumed with the Creator of all things rather than with things created.”

Leave a Reply

