Sunrise, Surfing, and Spousal Sentiments

20131022-165727.jpgIt was a full moon. A storm was brewing in Japan and the Kona winds had created the ultimate scenario for spending our Sunday at the liquid chapel. With a swift, spontaneous decision, we decided to pack up and head on the road to camp out at one of our favorite secret spots. If you live on Maui and know this little island we call home, the pictures will give away our location, but if not, I’ll never tell.

I love my hubs and I get excited about the things he is excited about. Out of the many things he excels at, he is an outstanding surfer. Many who know him will tell you that, but he would never admit it himself. I really enjoy going to the beach with him when he surfs. I love watching him in action, punting airs and pulling into barrels, doing things the upcoming Maui groms in magazines are notorious for. I cheer him on, on the inside. “Yah, babe! Good one!” He would never hear me over the pounding waves or my pounding heart. I always make sure to show the kids from shore, “Look, there’s Daddy on that huge wave!” Hoping they share my enthusiasm for our fearless family leader.

I hope and pray that my son grows up to be as rad as his dad….not just a great surfer, but a great man. A lover of all that is good. And also, for my daughter that she would someday find a husband as fun and selfless and exceptional.

20131022-172632.jpg

20131022-172638.jpg

20131022-172646.jpg

20131022-172653.jpg
I wish I got better shots. This series was taken just at the crack of dawn and I needed to put my camera down to attend to our awakening love children.

20131022-172915.jpg

20131022-172939.jpg

20131022-173049.jpg

7 comments

  1. hawaiianham · October 23, 2013

    I’m a huge fan too. Not so much of his spastic surfing even though he shreds so hard he breaks waves. But of his character and love for Christ. And if you know anything about Kimo all you need to know is that he’s loved by his family. I was more excited reading about Seanna admiration than how the waves where.

  2. Kelly · October 23, 2013

    Awesome Seanna…praising your hubby at the gates!!

  3. Ed · October 23, 2013

    *write

  4. Mumsy · October 24, 2013

    I love your pen and amazing shots of Kimo surfing. You are so talented and should write for a mag. Better yet start your own. Kimo should enter a contest or is he just a soul surfer?
    Love Mumsy

  5. Turquoise Compass · October 31, 2013

    This is a beautiful post! There is something magical about the ocean!

Leave a Reply

